Top Prom Songs through the Decades

Top Prom Songs

Here's Stumps list of the top prom songs through the decades

Music is an important party of the high school prom. When a couple looks back at their prom night, the slow prom songs they danced to usually provide some of the most vibrant memories.

Stumps Prom has been America’s source for prom supplies since 1926. Over the decades, Stumps has compiled a list of the top prom songs of all-time. Click to listen to these top prom songs. See the prom songs list below to find out if your high school prom song made the list of the most popular ballads of that decade:

Top Prom Songs of the 1920’s
Rhapsody in Blue – George Gershwin
My Man – Fanny Brice
Makin’ Whoopee – Eddie Cantor
I Wanna Be Loved By You – Helen Kane
My Blue Heaven – Gene Austin
Moonlight and Roses – Whiting and Donaldson
Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael
Ain’t She Sweet – Annette Hanshaw
Among My Souvenirs – Nicholls and Leslie
I Can’t Give You Anything But Love – Blackbirds

Top Prom Songs of the 1930’s
Over the Rainbow – Judy Garland
Moonlight Serenade – Glenn Miller
Pennies From Heaven – Bing Crosby
Thanks for the Memory – Bob Hope
In The Mood – Glenn Miller
Mood Indigo – Duke Ellington
Sing, Sing, Sing – Benny Goodman
Cross Road Blues – Robert Johnson
Honeysuckle Rose – Fats Waller
God Bless America – Kate Smith

Top Prom Songs of the 1940’s
I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry – Hank Williams
Take the A Train – Duke Ellington
Lovesick Blues – Hank Williams
Sentimental Journey – Les Brown
You Made Me Love You – Harry James & His Orchestra
Adios – Xavier Cugat
Crusing Down the River – Frankie Carle & His Orchestra
Again – Doris Day
Some Enchanted Evening – Ezio Pinza
I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm – Les Brown & His Orchestra

Top Prom Songs of the 1950’s
Love Me Tender – Elvis Presley
Earth Angel – Penguins
Teen Angel – Mark Dinning
Little Darlin’ – The Diamonds
Only You – The Platters
Whatever Will Be Will Be – Doris Day
Diana – Paul Anka
Put Your Head On My Shoulder – Paul Anka
Venus – Frankie Avalon
April Love – Pat Boone

Top Prom Songs of the 1960’s
I Got You Babe – Sonny & Cher
And I Love Her – Beatles
Theme From a Summer Place – Percy Faith
Unchained Melody – Righteous Brothers
To Sir With Love – Lulu
Will You Love Me Tomorrow – The Shirelles
My Way – Frank Sinatra
Young Girl – Gary Puckett & The Union Gap
He’s So Fine – The Chiffons
Happy Together – The Turtles

Top Prom Songs of the 1970’s
Baby I Love Your Way – Peter Frampton
I Go Crazy – Paul Davis
Always & Forever – Heatwave
I Wanna Make it With You – Bread
Colour My World – Chicago
Stairway to Heaven – Led Zeppelin
Wonderful Tonight – Eric Clapton
Dream On – Aerosmith
Do That To me One More Time – Captain & Tennille
Fooled Around & Fell In Love – Elvin Bishop

Top Prom Songs of the 1980’s
Every Breath You Take – The Police
Crazy For You – Madonna
Take My Breath Away – Berlin
I Want To Know What Love Is – Foreigner
Faithfully – Journey
The Rose – Bette Midler
Lady in Red – Chris de Burgh
Babe – Styx
Almost Paradise – Ann Wilson & Mike Reno
I’ve Had the Time of My Life – Bill Medley & Jennifer Warnes

Top Prom Songs of the 1990’s
My Heart Will Go On – Celine Dion
I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston
I Don’t Wanna Miss a Thing – Aerosmith
I’ll Make Love to You – Boyz II Men
I Swear – All-4-One
Can’t Help Falling In Love – UB40
Everything I Do I Do it For You – Bryan Adams
Save the Best For Last – Vanessa Williams
One Sweet Day – Mariah Carey & Boyz II Men
More Than Words – Extreme

Top Prom Songs of the 2000’s
Shape of My Heart – Backstreet Boys
You Sang to Me – Marc Anthony
Take My Breath Away – Jessica Simpson
You and Me – Lifehouse
With You – Chris Brown
Here in Your Arms – Hello Goodbye
We Belong Together – Mariah Carey
A Moment Like This – Kelly Clarkson
Hero – Enrique Inglesias
Beautiful – Christine Aguileira

Listen to these top prom songs.
What song reminds you of your high school prom night?

3 responses to “Top Prom Songs through the Decades

  1. Those 90’s songs really bring back memories! Great list!

  2. Great playlist! I choose the 80’s and would love the 80’s theme for the prom! New wave songs can be added too!

  3. Love this list! Thanks for the link too so I could listen to my favorite decade of songs – the 1950s. Glad ELVIS made the list!

Leave a comment